About Achieve Hartford!

We are an independent nonprofit organization founded by business and community leaders with the belief that strong schools lead to a strong city. As Mayors, Boards of Education and Superintendents change over time, we are the consistent voice pushing for high-quality education in our city since 2008.

Our Team

Board Members

George Phillip ‘Phil’ Waldeck

President & CEO

Prudential Retirement

Ted Fleming

Vice President, Human Resources

Aetna University

Jim Bedard

Chief Financial Officer of the Northeast

United HealthCare

Diane D. Bengston

SVP Human Resources


Michelle M. Morey

Senior Consultant

Oculus Partners

Thom Cranley


Ernst & Young

Julie Daly Meehan

Vice President of Investor Engagement and Retention

MetroHartford Alliance

Lawrence Davis

Vice President

Webster Bank

Richard Pummell

Senior Executive Operations and Human Resources Consultant

Stefanie Chambers

Professor of Political Science & Chair

Trinity College

Glenn Gollenberg


S/L/A/M Collaborative

Sandra Chafouleas

Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor, Dept. of Educational Psychology, Neag School of Education, Co-Director, Collaboratory on School and Child Health


Alan Hadad

Dean of Magnet Schools

University of Hartford